Call for Papers

BSN 2022 Call for Papers 

The IEEE-EMBS International Conference on Biomedical and Health Informatics (BHI) and the IEEE International Conference on Wearable and Implantable Body Sensor Networks (BSN) are sponsored by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (IEEE-EMBS) on informatics and computing in healthcare and life sciences. IEEE-EMBS BHI 2022 will be co-organized with IEEE-EMBS BSN 2022 and will take place in Ioannina, Greece, from 27-30 September, 2022. It will provide a unique forum to showcase enabling technologies of devices and sensors, hardware and software systems, predictive models, databases, and big data analytics and machine learning that optimize the acquisition, transmission, processing, monitoring, storage, retrieval, analysis, visualization and interpretation of vast volumes of multi-modal biomedical data, as well as related social, behavior, environmental, and geographical data. Authors are invited to submit full papers (4 Pages) and demo/poster abstracts (1 Page) presenting cutting-edge research related to the theory and/or practice of wearable, ingestible and implantable sensors and systems in the healthcare/medical domains. Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:

» Prototyping of body-worn, ingestible and implantable sensor networks
» Novel chemical, biological and textile body sensors
» Flexible and/or stretchable electronic sensors and systems
» Ultra-low-power or battery-less solutions for longitudinal studies
» Machine learning, deep learning and decision support algorithms
» Body area communication protocols, models and theories
» Security, privacy and trust in body sensor network; and Medical/wellness applications from pre-natal health to elderly care

BSN 2022 Organizing Committee

Conference Co-Chairs

Canan Dagdeviren,, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Emil Jovanov,, University of Alabama, USA

Paolo Bonato,, Harvard Medical School, USA

Program Co-Chairs

Benny  Lo,, Imperial College London, Europe

Oliver Amft,, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Europe

Rita Paradiso,, Smartex s.r.l., Europe

Special Session Co-Chairs

Christina Chase,, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Giancarlo Fortino,, University of Calabria, Europe

Wei Chen,, Fudan University, Asia

Industry Liaison

Paul Wacnik,, Pfizer, USA

Valeria De Luca,, Novartis, Europe

Roozbeh Ghaffari,, Epicore Biosystems and Northwestern University, USA

Rapid Fire Session Co-Chairs

Katarzyna Wac,, University of Geneva, Europe

Shyamal Patel,, Oura, USA

Sunghoon Ivan Lee,, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA

Technical Program Committee Members

Salzitsa Anastasova-Ivanova,, Imperial College London, Europe

Stacy Bamberg,, Veristride, USA

Riccardo Barbieri,, Politecnico di Milano, Europe

Walter Besio,, Univ of Rhode Island, USA

Dinesh Bhatia,, The University of Texas at Dallas, USA

Brian Caufield,, University College Dublin, Europe

Ieuan Clay,, VivoSense, USA

Andrew DeHennis,, Senseonics Inc, USA

Danilo Demarchi,, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Lei Ding,, University of Oklahoma, USA

Kelley Erb,, Biogen Inc, USA

Björn Eskofier,, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Europe

Hassan Ghasemzadeh,, Washington State University, USA

Balaji Goparaju,, Novartis, Europe

Perena Gouma,, Ohio State Univ, USA

Raffaele Gravina,, University of Calabria, Europe

Mohammad Mehedi Hassan,, King Saud University, Middle East

Roozbeh Jafari,, Texas A&M University, USA

Christopher J. James,, University of Warwick, Europe

Christoph Kanzler,, ETH-Singapore, Asia

Aimé Lay-Ekuakille,, Univ of Salento, Europe

Steffen Leonhardt,, RWTH Aachen University, Europe

Ye Li,, Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology, Asia

Wen Li,, Michigan State University, USA

Jie Liang,, University of Illinois Chicago, USA

Qing Liu,, Xi’an Jiaotong-Liverpool University, Asia

Luca Mainardi,, Politecnico di Milano, Europe

Fernando Seoane Martinez,, University of Borås, Europe

Ryan McGinnis ,, University of Vermont, USA

Carolyn McGregor,, University of Ontario, Canada

Bobak Mortazavi,, Texas A&M University, USA

Gabriella Olmo,, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Joe Paradiso,, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Federico Parisi,, Harvard Medical School, USA

Edward Park,, Simon Fraser University, Canada

Julien Penders,, Bloomlife Inc, USA

Octavian Postolache,, Universidade de Lisboa, Europe

Hongliang Ren,, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Bruno Miguel Gil Rosa,, Imperial College London, Europe

Edward Sazonov,, University of Alabama, USA

Vrutangkumar Shah,, Oregon Health & Science University, USA

Peter Shull,, Sage Motion, Asia

Ye (Sarah) Sun,, University of Virginia, USA

Toshiyo Tamura,, Waseda University, Asia

Brian A. Telfer,, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA

Ashkan Vaziri,, BioSensics LLC, USA

Eric Yeatman,, Imperial College London, Europe

Hong Yeo,, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Yali Zheng,, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Asia

Wenchuan Wei,, Samsung Research America, USA


BSN 2022 Key Dates

Submission Deadline for SS and Workshop Proposals – May 15, 2022

Acceptance notification of SS and Workshop Proposals – May 22, 2022

Regular Full-Length Paper Submission Deadlines – May 30, 2022 NEW EXTENSION to June 30, 2022

Submission Deadline of Special Session Papers (4 and 1 page) – June 15, 2022 NEW EXTENSION to June 30, 2022

Acceptance Notification of Full-Length and SS Papers – July 15, 2022

Initial Regular 1-Page Paper Submission Deadlines –  July 27th, 2022 NEW EXTENSION to August 5, 2022

Acceptance Notification of 1-Page Extended Abstracts – Aug 5th, 2022

Submission Deadline of Camera-Ready Papers and Extended Abstracts – August 15, 2022

Event Search